• Absolute_banner_add_658x80.jpg



    CLEVELAND, OH – The Baseball Writers Association of America today announced Cleveland Indians Manager TERRY FRANCONA has been selected the American League Manager of the Year for 2016, beating out Texas’ Jeff Banister and Baltimore’s Buck Showalter.

    Terry Francona Press Conference Photo Spring Training 2016



    Manager                                Wins

    1. Bruce Bochy                     1789

    2. Dusty Baker                       1766

    3. Mike Scioscia                    1490

    4. Buck Showalter                1429

    5.            TERRY FRANCONA    1381

    Francona, 57, recently guided Cleveland to its sixth American League pennant in 2016, compiling a regular season record of 94-67 (.584) followed by a postseason 10-5 mark.

    During his four-year stint as Indians manager, the club has qualified for the postseason play two times and finished with a winning mark in each of those seasons.

    He owns a 352-294 (.545) mark as Indians manager, the 6th-highest winning pct. in the 116-year history of the franchise.

    He is 8th all-time in club history in managerial wins. He owns a 16-year career managerial mark of 1381-1209 (.533), the fifth-highest win total among active managers, and has led his clubs to 12 consecutive winning seasons, including all four with Cleveland.

    He is one of 17 managers in baseball history to guide two or more clubs to the World Series.

    Today’s award is the second earned by Francona over his 16-year Major League Managerial career after winning in 2013, his first season with the Indians.   Francona (2013, 2016) and ERIC WEDGE (2007) are the only Indians Manager of the Year Award recipients.

    The BBWAA began voting on the Manager of the Year Award in 1983.

    Posted in Feature Articles | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment


    The Cleveland Indians are headed back to the World Series for the first time since 1997 after defeating the Toronto Blue Jays 3-0 in Game 5 and winning the American League Champion Series 4 games to 1.

    Indians ALCS Champs

    Rookie left hander Ryan Merritt making his second ever major league start gave the Indians 4 1/3 innings of scoreless baseball and then the bullpen took over from there. Brian Shaw got the win, while ALCS – MVP Andrew Miller came on to record 8 outs and Cody Allen got the save.

    Ryan Merritt

    Carlos Santana and Coco Crisp each hit solo homeruns while Mike Napoli doubled and Francisco Lindor added 3 more hits to provide the offense for the Tribe.

    The Indians will now play the winner of the NLCS between the Dodgers and the Cubs in the World Series starting Tuesday, October 25th in Cleveland, as the Wahoo Warriors own home-field advantage because the American League beat the National League in this year’s All-Star game. The winning pitcher in the All-Star game was the Tribe’s Corey Kluber who will be expected to start Game 1 of the World Series.

    Posted in Blog Posts, Feature Articles | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments
    Please visit my sponsors.... and tell em' "the roadman" sent ya!
  • steel-stretch-kenny-roda-banner-ad.jpg
  • steel-stretch-kenny-roda-banner-ad.jpg
  • Sponsorships are currently available! Contact Kenny for details.